Announcing .NET Core 3.0 Preview 8

Avatar

Richard

Today, we are announcing .NET Core 3.0 Preview 8. Just like with Preview 7, we’ve focused on polishing .NET Core 3.0 for a final release and are not adding new features. If these final previews seem anti-climatic, that’s by design.

Download .NET Core 3.0 Preview 8 right now on Windows, macOS and Linux.

ASP.NET Core and EF Core are also releasing updates today.

Details:

The Microsoft .NET Site has been updated to .NET Core 3.0 Preview 8 (see the .NET Core runtime version in the footer text). It’s been running successfully on Preview 8 for over two weeks, on Azure WebApps (as a self-contained app). We will move the site to Preview 9 builds shortly.

If you missed it, check out the improvements we released in .NET Core 3.0 Preview 7, from last month.

Go Live

NET Core 3.0 Preview 8 is supported by Microsoft and can be used in production. We strongly recommend that you test your app running on Preview 8 before deploying Preview 8 into production. If you find an issue with .NET Core 3.0, please file a GitHub issue and/or contact Microsoft support.

If you are using .NET Core 3.0 Preview 7, you need to move to Preview 8 for “Go Live” support.

Closing

The .NET Core 3.0 release is coming close to completion, and the team is solely focused on stability and reliability now that we’re no longer building new features. Please tell us about any issues you find, ideally as quickly as possible. We want to get as many fixes in as possible before we ship the final 3.0 release.

If you install daily builds, please read an important PSA on .NET Core master branches.

Avatar
Richard Lander

Program Manager, .NET Team

Follow Richard   

17 Comments
Avatar
Jeff Zhou 2019-08-13 17:14:43
Forgot to mention Visual Studio 2019 16.3 Preview 2?
arun r
arun r 2019-08-13 19:01:32
Is there any VS2019 update?
Avatar
Алексей Леонович 2019-08-13 22:53:27
1) Does this preview support building C++/CLI projects for Windows? 2) Does x64 .NET Core SDK installer already includes x86 or I need to install both on x64 machine? The same question for .NET Core runtimes. 3) Is .Net Core supposed to be used in offline (disconnected) scenarios? Because for now it's impossible to compile template Windows Forms App (.NET Core) with Visual Studio 2019 Professional 16.3 preview 2 and .NET Core 3-preview8 if PC cannot reach nuget.org - https://developercommunity.visualstudio.com/content/problem/519562/cannot-compile-template-winforms-desktop-applicati.html
Avatar
anonymous 2019-08-13 23:32:55
This comment has been deleted.
Avatar
Андрей Карпов 2019-08-13 23:42:40
Checking the .NET Core Libraries Source Code by the PVS-Studio Static Analyzer: https://www.viva64.com/en/b/0656/
Avatar
Alex K 2019-08-14 00:06:18
Does 'Microsoft .NET Site' use EntityFrameworkCore3.0? I'll be happy to see it production-ready, but unluckily it is not. Problems emerge on any query that is a bit more complex than elementary. I'm a little bit dissapointed to see preview8 that hasn't fixed issues brought with preview7 re-design. Although I understand that efcore,aspnetcore,etc aren't literally parts of corefx, however they have same version-numbering and I suppose scheduling. Looking forward to see EFCore-preview9
Avatar
Marcel pl 2019-08-14 08:35:43
Why there is no Docker image for dotnet/core/runtime-deps:3.0-alpine3.9-arm32v7 ?
Avatar
Afshin Z 2019-08-15 01:11:38
What boards are supported in .NET Core 3.0 for GPIO, I2C, SPI, etc usage? 
Avatar
Stjepan Karin 2019-08-16 04:40:51
How come that you state the Preview is ready for production, when it is known that betas, previews and even release candidates are not to be used for critical applications? Even on the download site for this specific preview, the one can read (once yellow preview-tag is clicked) following: ”Preview releases provide early access to features that are currently under development. These releases are generally not supported for production use.”
Avatar
Claudio Santos 2019-08-16 07:53:53
It's still a nightmare to deploy to azure, almost giving up, as Framework dependent nor Self-Contained are working for me in preview 8, and as we have our production env in Azure, this is like a huge pain.... 
Avatar
Brian Wells 2019-08-20 07:40:44
So far I've got nothing but crickets on this ASP.NET Core 3.0 question: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/57397059/mvc-authorization-inside-mapwhen-is-applied-to-all-controllers Is that because I'm being ignorant? Or is it because there's no good answer yet? Probably the former! But can someone educate me a bit on this?
Avatar
Bill Palace 2019-08-22 12:54:01
I may have found a bug. I am on version 3.0.100-preview8-013656. When I call System.IO.Ports.SerialPort.GetPortNames() on my Raspberry Pi 2, it does not find any ports. I would expect it to find the UART0 serial port. Is there a better place to post this?
Riaan G
Riaan G 2019-08-23 00:43:43
Congrats guys! I've been following along from the time that .net core was called asp vnext. The blazor model is absolutely amazing and it's great to see the amount of enthusiasm around it in the community.