Azure Cosmos DB at Build 2023: Everything you need to know

Michal Toiba

BuildingBlocks Social 2023 MS Build

 

Build season is upon us again and we’ve got plenty of goodies in store. From a ton of new features that will make life easier for developers, to exciting sessions where Azure Cosmos DB will be the star of the show, you won’t want to miss the event. This year’s Build takes place May 23-25th and is happening both in-person at the Seattle Convention Center and online through live streams. Can’t go in person? Get in on all the action at no cost by registering to attend online here. You can watch the live broadcast and interactive sessions, and engage with speakers and experts in real time.

Check out Azure Cosmos DB expert and Principal PM Manager Mark Brown’s breakdown of what you can expect from Azure Cosmos DB at Build. Or, below, read our guide to all the sessions and mark these binge-worthy talks you won’t want to miss!

..

Breakout session

BRK242H: Build scalable, cloud-native apps with Kubernetes and Azure Cosmos DB

Wednesday, May 24, 1:30 PM-2:15 PM PST │4:30 PM-5:15 PM EST

Headlining this year’s lineup for Azure Cosmos DB-related events is a breakout session on building cloud-native apps with Azure Kubernetes Service (AKS) and Azure Cosmos DB. The session will explore the latest news and capabilities from these services, and will feature customer Rockwell Automation, whose cloud architects will share how they’ve used Azure’s cloud-scale app and data services to create global applications. We’ll also make announcements about new elasticity and cost-saving features available in Azure Cosmos DB.

 

Demos

DEM141A: Modernize MongoDB workloads with Azure Cosmos DB

Tuesday, May 23, 11:30 AM-11:45 AM PST │2:30 PM-2:45 PM EST

Join us for a demo exploring how to seamlessly integrate your existing MongoDB workloads into the Azure ecosystem, with the new Azure Cosmos DB for MongoDB vCore architecture. We’ll show you how easy it is to create your cluster with familiar vCPUs and disks and connect your existing MongoDB app with your favorite tools and drivers.

DEM141B: Build next gen intelligent retail with Azure OpenAI & Azure Cosmos DB

Tuesday, May 23, 11:45 AM-12:00 PM PST │2:45 PM-3:00 PM EST

OpenAI is on everyone’s mind today, and as Azure Cosmos DB powers ChatGPT’s scale and growth, we’re bringing you an exciting demo on how to leverage the two services to create a cutting-edge shopping assistant. In the demo, we’ll show how to use Azure Cosmos DB with Azure OpenAI to build a rich experience for users using retrieval augmented generation (RAG) pattern with customer data stored entirely in Azure.

DEM111B: Use Azure Cosmos DB, Azure Logic Apps, and AI to store and analyze images

Wednesday, May 24, 11:15 AM-11:30 AM PST │2:15 PM-2:30 PM EST

Microsoft Sr. Cloud Advocate Brian Benz brings his popular Azure Cosmos DB Conf 2023 talk to Build, sharing how to develop a solution that collects, stores, and analyzes data from images using Azure Logic Apps, Azure Cosmos DB, Azure Storage, and Azure AI. Brian will walk through how to extract address information from images of physical mail that the US Postal System delivers and explore how to analyze and track the data for insights.

 

Lab

LAB111: Build a Chat Bot using Azure OpenAI, Azure Cosmos DB & Blazor Server

Tuesday, May 23, 4:00 PM-4:45 PM PST │7:00 PM-7:45 PM EST

Wednesday, May, 24 11:00 AM-11:45 AM │2:00 PM-2:45 PM EST

More intelligent chat goodness coming your way: this year we’re offering a lab where you can get direct hands-on experience building an intelligent chat bot using Azure OpenAI, Azure Cosmos DB, and Azure App Service with Blazor Server. You’ll learn how to use these services to make the chat experience richer, how to build conversational memory, perform summarization, and build and test system prompts for various scenarios.

 

Discussion sessions

DIS24H: Database capabilities you need for your next awesome app Q&A

Tuesday, May 23, 12:30 PM-1:15 PM PST │3:30 PM-4:15 PM EST

Growing businesses rely on several Azure Cosmos DB features to build and scale their apps, according to a white paper published by analyst firm ESG earlier this year. Join speakers from digital-native startups The Postage and Zero Friction, together with Azure Cosmos DB experts, for a discussion on ESG findings and how to use Azure Cosmos DB enterprise-grade features to go from startup to scale. Learn how to use capabilities such as autoscale, built-in security, and global distribution, to take your app to the next level.

DIS08: Learn Live: Model data for Azure Cosmos DB for PostgreSQL

Tuesday, May 23, 1:30-2:30 PM PST │4:30 PM-5:30 PM EST

Azure Cosmos DB for PostgreSQL provides a highly scalable distributed relational database solution, reliably and securely managed on Azure. Join us in this session to discover key considerations for modeling data for Azure Cosmos DB for PostgreSQL, classifying tables, and creating and altering tables within an Azure Cosmos DB for PostgreSQL cluster.

DIS241H: Azure Cosmos DB for MongoDB: Choosing the right architecture Q&A

Tuesday, May 23, 1:30-2:15 PM PST │4:30 PM-5:15 PM EST

MongoDB developers now have two great choices for running their data workloads in Azure Cosmos DB for MongoDB: throughput-based (RU) and vCore architectures. Join Azure Cosmos DB experts for a discussion about how to choose the right architecture for your MongoDB workloads, how to transition workloads into the Azure ecosystem, and ways to ensure your app’s scalability.

DIS144: Distributed NoSQL vs. D-SQL: Which to use for your cloud-native apps

Wednesday, May 24, 12:15 PM-1:00 PM PST │3:15 PM-4:00 PM EST

Cloud technology has enabled new use cases, and made the development of fast, scalable, and high-performance apps possible. Getting the most from cloud development, however, requires new strategies and approaches to data. Join members of the Azure Cosmos DB team for a discussion about when and why to use NoSQL and relational distributed databases to power born-in-the-cloud apps.

 

Product roundtable

PRT018: Optimizing Azure Cosmos DB: Strategies for cost efficiency and elasticity

Tuesday, May 23, 12:30 PM-1:30 PM PST │3:30 PM-4:30 PM EST

Cloud costs getting too high? Join us in this roundtable to discuss effective strategies for achieving cost efficiency and elasticity with Azure Cosmos DB. Bring your experiences and we’ll share our thoughts about serverless, merge partitions, burst capacity, throughput redistribution across partitions, and autoscaling.

 

Register for Microsoft Build

Microsoft Build 2023 is a free digital event and experience that is open to all audiences. Register now to join this year’s event and explore the latest innovations in AI, cloud development, collaborative apps, data platform, DevSecOps and SRE, dev tools, low-code, .NET, and Windows. See you there!

 

Get Started with Azure Cosmos DB for free

Azure Cosmos DB is a fully managed NoSQL and relational database for modern app development with SLA-backed speed and availability, automatic and instant scalability, and support for open source PostgreSQL, MongoDB and Apache Cassandra. Try Azure Cosmos DB for free here. To stay in the loop on Azure Cosmos DB updates, follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and LinkedIn.

0 comments

Comments are closed. Login to edit/delete your existing comments

Feedback usabilla icon